Ellevest

Magazine

76 Businesses Owned by Latinx Women+ That You Can Shop Now

By Ellevest Team

September 15 through October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month (also known as Hispanic Heritage Month). This year, we’ve been celebrating the heritage of Latinx women who start businesses.

A collage of squares featuring images from women-owned businesses

Latinx women have been starting businesses at twice the national average rate over the past five years. Today, there are 2,346,200 businesses owned by Latinx women — they make up 31% of all new women-owned businesses, which is double their share of the population.

But just like Black women, Latinx women business owners don’t have it easy. Their average revenue is far below what companies started by white women bring in. That may be because many of these businesses are pretty new. But there’s also this: Latinx people face bias in the credit scoring industry and difficulty getting loans. Latinx-owned businesses have been hit harder and helped less during the coronavirus pandemic. All of those obstacles mean that more Latinx-owned businesses rely on self-financing … and with the enormous gender wealth gap for Latinx women, who on average own only one penny for every dollar a white man owns, that’s a serious challenge to growth.

If Latinx women were truly able to do business equally with white women, they’d add 1,830,611 new employees and $393,894,103 a year to our economy. And also? They’re amazing. So we’ve asked our community to share their favorite businesses. Now let’s use our dollars to support them.

Authors, Poets, and Playwrights

Carmen Maria Machado, IG: @carmenmmachado
Carolina de Robertis, IG: @carolina_derobertis
Cherrie Moraga, IG: @cherriemoraga
Gloria E. Anzaldúa
Guadalupe Nettel
Isabel Allende, IG: @allendeisabel
Julia Alvarez, IG: @writerjalvarez
Melissa Lozada-Olivia, IG: @ellomelissa
Sandra Cisneros, IG: @officialsandracisneros
Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Twitter: @silviamg
Valeria Luiselli, IG: @valeria.luiselli

Beauty Companies

7Abloom, IG: @7Abloom
Alamar Cosmetics, IG: @alamarcosmetics⁠
Beauty Blender, IG: @beautyblender⁠
Bésame Cosmetics, IG: @besamecosmetics
Beyond Complexion Skincare, IG: @beyondcomplexionskincare⁠
Botanika Beauty, IG:@botanika_beauty
Bright Body, IG: @mybrightbody
Brujita Skincare, IG: @brujitaskincare
Chica Beauty, IG: @chicabeautyusa
GabyRosMakeup, IG: @gabyrosmakeup⁠
Laromatica Perfume, IG: @laromaticaperfume
Maitri Healing Co , IG: @maitrihealingco
Mariana Makeup Cosmetics, IG: @mariana_makeup_cosmetics⁠
Melt Cosmetics, IG: @meltcosmetics
Passport Polish, IG: @thepassportpolish⁠
Reina Rebelde, IG: @reinarebelde
Seasoned by the Sun Skincare, IG: @seasonedbythesun
Sun Kiss Alba, IG: @sunkissalba
Tata Harper, IG: @tataharperskincare
Vive Cosmetics, IG: @vivecosmetics

Fashion Brands

Adornment + Theory, IG: @adornmentandtheory
Amor a Mexico Boutique, IG: @amoramexicoboutique
Bebesitas, IG: @bebesitas.la⁠
Camilla Limón, IG: @camillalimon.co⁠
Cuyana, IG: @Cuyana
Crumi, IG: @Crumistuff
Dov Jewelry, IG: @dovjewelry
Essma, IG: @shopessma
Fanny Kahlo, IG: @OjoxOjo
Hermanas and Crafts, IG: @hermanasandcrafts⁠
Hija de tu Madre, IG: @hijadetumadre⁠
Kyrz’s Closet, IG: @shopkyrzsclose
La Veste, IG: @lavestelaveste
LES Downtown, IG: @lesdowntown⁠
Materialized, IG: @getmaterialized⁠
Mi Golondrina, IG: @mi_golondrina
The Line by K, IG: @thelinebyk⁠
Ni En More, IG: @nienmore⁠
Not Sorry Apparel, IG: @notsorryapparel
Palma Swimwear, IG: @palma.swim⁠
Petunia Folk, IG:@petuniafolk⁠
Posh Palma Styles, IG: @poshpalmastyles⁠
Simonett, IG: @simonett
Street Glam Inc., IG: @shop.streetglam⁠
Wasi Clothing, IG: @wasiclothing

Restaurants and Food Businesses

Arepa Mia, Atlanta, IG: @arepamia⁠
Barrio Café, Phoenix, IG: @thebarriocafe
Chef Carla Contreras (online classes), IG: @chefcarla_c⁠
Cruzita’s Deli and Cafe, Los Angeles, IG: @cruzitasdeliandcafe⁠
Guelaguetza, Los Angeles (ships nationally), IG: @laguelaguetza⁠
La Cocinita, Chicago and New Orleans, IG: @eatatlacocinita
Lola’s Tacos, Phoenix, IG: @lolas_tacos
MN Santa Inés, Buenos Aires, IG: @mnsantaines
Next Stop Vegan, New York City, IG: @nextstopvegan
Shut the Kale Up (food blog), IG: @shutthekaleup
Siete Foods, Austin, IG: @sietefoods⁠ ⁠
Sophie’s Cuban Cuisine, New York City, IG: @sophiescubancuisine⁠
VCHOS Truck, Los Angeles IG: @vchostruck

Other

Intersectional Environmentalist, IG: @intersectionalenvironmentalist
Latinas from the Block to the Boardroom, IG:@latinasb2b
Lil’ Libros, IG: @lil_libros
Little Nook Studio, IG: @littlenookstudio
My Money My Future, IG: @mymoneymyfuture
Sincerely Not, IG: @sincerely.not
Taylor M. Tieman, Esq., IG: @legalmiga


Disclosures

© 2020 Ellevest, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

All opinions and views expressed by Ellevest are current as of the date of this writing, for informational purposes only, and do not constitute or imply an endorsement of any third party’s products or services.

Information was obtained from third-party sources, which we believe to be reliable but not guaranteed for accuracy or completeness.

The information provided does not take into account the specific objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any specific person.

Don’t miss an update

What you need to know about managing your financial health during the coronavirus pandemic. Plus fact-based opinions and women supporting women. Delivered 3x a week.

Ellevest Team

The Ellevest team is working to help women reach their financial and professional goals.