Ellevest

Magazine

Just a List of Hundreds of Businesses Led by Black Women+

By Ellevest Team

Black women have been starting businesses faster than anyone else — much faster, actually. Over the past five years, companies owned by women overall grew by 21%, according to the annual State of Women-Owned Business. But companies owned by Black women grew by 50%. Put another way, these represent 42% of new women-owned businesses over those five years. Nearly half! That’s three times population share, and it’s damn impressive.

A collage of squares featuring images from women-owned businesses Elle West, Empress Collections, Golde, and Au Naturale Cosmetics.

Image credit: Women-owned businesses Elle West, Empress Collections, Golde, and Au Naturale Cosmetics.

But systemic racism and a culture of white supremacy stand in their way. The revenue gap between businesses owned by Black women and the “average” woman-owned business is wider than any other. And a full 99% of Black women describe themselves as “sidepreneurs,” with their business as part-time rather than full time. (Even though many would prefer to leave the workplace — where Black women are routinely and disproportionately paid less, blocked for promotions, and harassed — behind.)

That’s because money breeds money. You can’t start a business without capital. More than 66% of entrepreneurs fund their companies with their own savings. But launching a full-time business is harder when the gender wealth gap for Black women — the average amount of money they own, compared to a white man’s dollar — is one penny.

Another 11% of entrepreneurs turn to family and friends to help them launch — also a much more challenging option when the typical white family owns ten times the wealth of the typical Black family. Turning to outside funding is full of roadblocks, too: Black-owned businesses are disproportionately denied credit, and startups led by Black women receive .0006% of venture capital funding.

And all that’s before the effects of the coronavirus. The pandemic disproportionately affected Black people’s health. It also hit Black businesses way harder. The Paycheck Protection Program (legislation to keep small businesses afloat during the crisis) came with a mandate to prioritize women-owned and minority-owned businesses that was ignored. According to one estimate, 90% of women and minority entrepreneurs were shut out of the PPP program. The number of working Black business owners dropped from 1.1 million in February 2020 to 640,000 in April.

And if we dismantled our racist systems, and Black women were able to hire and earn at parity? According to that State of Women-Owned Business report, it would add 2,421,276 jobs to the economy, and an extra $522,189,029 of revenue.

All of which to say: Black women entrepreneurs deserve your business. All 2,681,179 of them. So we’ve been asking our community to share your favorite companies led by Black women.

So far, we've asked for the visual artists and beauty companies you love. But we’ll be updating this list of community favorites, industry by industry, in the coming weeks — so bookmark this page and keep coming back! (For those who are counting, it’s 100+ now, and will be “literally” hundreds by next week).

Beauty Companies

Bath & Body

3B Waxing, IG: @3bwaxing
Annabelle’s Perfect Blend, IG: @annabelles_perfectblend
Aroma Whip, IG: @aromawhips
Bathe Brand, IG: @bathebrand
Belle51, IG: @belle51co
Body Love, IG: @trybodylove
Coddle, IG: @coddledotco
Deames Bettah Buttahs, IG: @deamesbettahbuttahs
Ebi Kit, IG: @ebi.kit
Elizabeth Peyton Creations, IG: @ElizabethPeytonCreations
Espinache Body (their site is down right now), IG: @espinachebody
Hunny Bunny Boutique, IG: @love_hunnybunny
Karité, IG:@mykarite
LYL Body Care, IG: @lylbodycare
Lilly Pearl Beauty Co., IG: @lillypearlbeautyco
Moore Suds, IG: @wantmooresuds
Pawse Bodycare, IG: @pawsebodycare
Re.Vityl, IG: @re.vityl
Sheawa Inc, IG: @sheawa.inc
Sister Scientist, IG: @sisterscientist
Soap Distillery, IG: @soapdistillery
The Honey Pot Co, IG: @thehoneypotco
Vivify Body Co., IG: @vivifybody.co

Hair

Arin Edohr, IG: @arinedohr
Aunt Jackie’s, IG: @auntjackiescurlsandcoils
Briogeo, IG: @briogeo
Charlotte Mensah, IG: @charlottemensah
Cheniqua’s Beauty Shoppe, IG: @cheniquasbeautyshoppe
Covet & Mane, IG: @covetandmane
CurlBox, IG: @curlbox
E’tae, IG: @etaehair
Ecoslay, IG: @ecoslay
Eden Bodyworks, IG: @edenbodyworks
Evolve by Firstline, IG: @evolvebyfirstline
Hairizon, IG: @hairizon
Keira Ashley, IG: @keiraashleyhair
Kreyòl Essence, IG: @kreyolessence
Lineage Studio, IG: @lineagestudionyc
Lotti Belle Beauty, IG: @lottibellebeauty
Melanin Haircare, IG: @melaninhaircare
Mielle Organics, IG: @mielleorganics
Pattern Beauty, IG: @patternbeauty
Rucker Roots, IG: @ruckerroots
The Upgrade Boutique, IG: @theupgradeboutique
Uhai Hair, IG: @uhaihair
Up North Naturals, IG: @upnorthnaturals

Makeup

241 Cosmetics, IG: @241cosmetics
Au Naturale Cosmetics, IG: @aunaturalelife
Beauty Bakerie, IG: @beautybakeriemakeup
Beauty Marked & Co., IG: @beautymarkedandco
Blk Opl, IG: @blk_opl
Bossy Cosmetics, IG: @bossylipstick
Coloured Raine, IG: @colouredraine
Danessa Myricks Beauty, IG: @danessa_myricks
Dehiya, IG: @dehiyabeauty
Doll Face Artistry, IG: @dollfaceartistry1
Fenty Beauty, IG: @fentybeauty
Hue Beauty, IG: @huebeautyco
Joséphine Cosmetics, IG: @josephinecosmetics
Lauren Napier Beauty, IG: @laurennapierbeauty
Lena Lashes, IG: @lashesbylena
Marie Hunter Beauty, IG: @mariehunterbeauty
Mary Louise Cosmetics, IG: @marylouisecosmetics
Mented Cosmetics , IG: @mentedcosmetics
Pat McGrath, IG: @patmcgrathreal
Pretti Lyps, IG: @pretti_lyps_
Shaded by Jade Cosmetics, IG: @shadedbyjadecosmetics
The Brown Beauty CoOp, IG: @thebrownbeautyco_op
The Lip Bar, IG: @thelipbar

Nails

Nash and Pino, IG: @nashandpino
Breukelen Polished, IG: @BreukelenPolished
Janet and Jo, IG: @janetandjo
Kaeess Nail Polish, IG: @kaeessnailpolish
Mischo Beauty, IG: @mischobeauty

Skincare

Aba Love Apothecary, IG: @abaloveapothecary
Angie Watts, IG: @angiewattsoninsta
Anita Grant, IG: @AnitaGrant
Anne’s Apothecary, IG: @AnnesApothecary
Base Butter, IG: @basebutter
BFree Organics, IG: @bfreeorganics
Beneath Your Mask, IG: @beneathyourmask
Black Girl Sunscreen, IG: @blackgirlsunscreen
Bolden, IG: @boldenusa
Limegreen, IG: @brooklynlimegreen
Cocolene, IG: @cocoleneusa
Essentials by Temi, IG: @essentialsbytem
Everly Organics, IG: @EverlyOrganics
Epara, IG: @eparaskincare
Glory Skin Care, IG: @gloryskincare_
Golde, IG: @golde
Hanahana Beauty, IG: @hanahana_beauty
Humility LLC, IG: @Humility_LLC
Hyper Skin, IG: @gethhyperskin
Jacq’s, IG: @shopjacqs
Klay Botanics, IG: @klaybotanics
Klur Co., IG: @klur.co
Kubra Kay Skincare, IG: @kubrakayskincare
Marla René Luxe Skincare, IG: @marlareneskincare
Nolaskinsentials, IG: @nolaskinsentials
Our Village, IG: @ourvillageacc
R41 Skin, IG: @r41skin
Redoux NYC, IG: @redouxnyc
Rosen Skincare, IG: @rosenskincare
SheRoZe Natural Skin Care, IG: @sherozenaturalskin
Skin By Ame, IG: @skinbyame
Something Xquisite, IG: @somethingxquisiteroyalet
The Balm Shop & Co., IG: @thebalmshopco
Unsun Cosmetics, IG: @unsuncosmetics
Videau Natural Health, IG: @videaunaturalhealth

Other

Always Appropriate Etiquette (etiquette and image consulting), IG: @tamiclaytor
Alive + Well (health and beauty product reseller), IG: @alivennwell
beautyocracy (beauty marketplace launching in July), IG: @beautyocracy
Cai Candle Company (candles), IG: @caicandleco
Chayil Candles (candles), IG: @chayilcandles
Elle West (candles, and hey, love the name), IG: @ellewest.co
Empress Collections (jewelry), IG: @empresscollections
Exau Olive Oil (food), IG: @exauoliveoil
Firm For The Culture (legal services for entrepreneurs), IG: @firmfortheculture
Gavin Luxe (fragrance), @gavinluxe
Haus of Hoodoo (candles and ritual products), IG: @hausofhoodoo
Kas and Klo Style (fashion), IG: @kasandklostyle
Lucky & Lovely Shop (gifts), IG: @luckyandlovelyshop
Movita Organics (supplements), IG: @movitaorganics
Naked Beauty Planet (podcast), IG: @nakedbeautyplanet
Neon Cowboys (gifts), IG: @neoncowboys
Shapprell Dallas, Top Bodies Fitness (fitness), IG: @shapprelldallas
Yayday Paper (stationery), IG: @yaydaypaper

Visual Artists

A’Driane Nieves, IG: @addyeb_art
Alicia A. Ray Studios, IG: @aliciaaraystudios
Amy Sherald, IG: @asherald
Bole Lig, IG: @bole_lig
Brittney Leeanne Williams, IG: @brittneyleeannewilliams
Cathy Charles, IG: @c.a.t.h.y.c
Chantell Marlow, IG: @chantellmarlow
Cheryl Derricotte, IG: @cherylderricottestudio
Cierra Day, IG: @stanku.smelly.much
Cleo Wade, IG: @cleowade
Danielle Coke, IG: @ohhappydani
Debra Cartwright, IG: @debracartwright
Iman Esayo Dekonor, IG: @esayophotography
Faith Ringgold, IG: @faithringgold
Franceta Johnson, IG: @francetajohnson
Genevieve Gaignard, IG: @creativecurvyginger
Harmonia Rosales, IG: @honeiee
Jade Purple Brown, IG: @jadepurplebrown
Jen Hewett, IG: @jenhewett
Jessi Raulet / EttaVee, IG: @ettavee
Jessica Pettway, IG: @jesspettway
Kara Hinson, IG: @kara.hinson.art
Kara Mshinda, IG: @karamshinda
Kara Walker, IG: @kara_walker_official
Kenesha Sneed, IG: @tactilematter
Laci Jordan, IG: @solacilike
Lindsay Adams, IG: @lindsaybriadams
Malene Barnett, IG: @malene.barnett
Melissa Kamba, IG: @tshikamba
Mona Chalabi, IG: @MonaChalabi
Monica Davis, IG: @moni_uniqueartist
Morgan Harper Nichols, IG: @morganharpernichols
Nikki Lavi, IG: @nikkilavi
obsidiopolis, IG: @obsidiopolis
Olivia Ellis, IG: @sketchesbyliv
Radical Hearts, IG: @radicalhearts_
Rheo Santana, IG: @artistrheosantana_
Rochelle Creative, IG: @rochellecreative
Shantell Martin, IG: @shantell_martin
She Devil Works, IG: @shedevilworks
Simone Cotton, IG: @by.simma
Synthia SAINT JAMES, IG: @chisaisaintjames
Tawny Chatmon, IG: @tawnychatmon
Tessera Arts Collective, IG: @tesseraartscollective
Tiffanie Anderson, IG: @theprettyartist
Tiffany B Chanel, IG: @tiffanybchanel
Toyin Ojih Odutola, IG: @toyinojihodutola
two minds press, IG: @twomindspress
Vessna Scheff, IG: @vessnascheff
Wildlogic, IG:@wildlogic
Yvette Crocker, IG: @yvettecrocker_artist
Zenzile Sky Lark, IG: @zenchiru
Zinah, IG: @heyzinah

Food Companies

A.Cake NYC, IG: @aajas_cakes
Ain’t She Sweet Cafe, IG: @aintshesweetcafe
Baum Ass Foods, IG: @baumassfoods
Black Girl Magic Wines, IG: @blackgirlmagicwines
Blondery, IG: @blondery
Cafe Du Pain Bakery, IG: @cafedupainbakery
Cake Bar, IG: @cakebartrinitygroves
CamiCakes, IG: @camicakescupcakes
Carter’s Kitchen, IG: @carterscitchen
Casa Brasil, IG: @casabrasilpgh
Chay J’s New Orleans Candies, IG: @chayjs
Cheff’n and Eetinn, IG: @cheff.n.eetinn
Cheryl’s Global Soul, IG: @cherylsglobalsoul
Curst by Mack, IG: @crustbymack
DaJen Eats, IG: @dajeneats
Essie Spice, IG: @essiespice
Feed Our Soul, IG: @feedoursoul
Feed the Malik, IG: @feedthemalik
Food by Zaria, IG: @foodbyzaria
Good Cakes and Bakes, IG: @goodcakes_andbakes
Greedi Kitchen, IG: @greedikitchen
Hank’s Mini Market, IG: @hanksminimarket
Hilltop Coffee and Kitchen, IG: @findyourhilltop
Ile Brews, IG: @ilebrews
Justice of the Pies, IG: @justiceofthepies
Kelewele, IG: @kelewelenyc
Koki, IG: @kokiexperience
Konjo Ethiopian Food, IG: @kojoethiopianfood
Leslie Parks Bailey, IG: @leslieparksbailey
Mama Tanya’s Kitchen, IG: @mamatanyaskitchen
Mamaleelou Cold Brew Coffee copy, IG: @mamaleelu
Maya’s Cookies, IG: @mayascookiessandiego
Michelle’s Naturally, IG: @michellesnaturally
Mingles Tea Bar, IG: @minglesteabar
Oh-Mazing Food, IG: @ohmazingfood
Oko Farms, IG: @okofarms
Oyegini, IG: @oyegini
Papa Ted’s, IG: @papatedstruck
Partake Foods, IG: @partakefoods
Post and Beam, IG: @postandbeamla
Puddin’, IG: @dcpuddin'
SALT N SPRINKLES, IG: @saltnsprinkles
Simply Pure, IG: @simplypurelv
South LA Cafe, IG: @southlacafe
Super Chef’s, IG: @superchefsohio
Sweet Dames Artisan Bakery, IG: @sweetdames
SweetHand Catering, IG: @sweethandnai
Sylvia’s Soul Food Brand, IG: @sylviassoulfoodbrand
The Crabby Shack, IG: @thecrabbyshack
The Cupcake Collection, IG: @thecupcakecollection
The Fresh 20, IG: @thefresh20
The Fuel Shack, IG: @thefuelshack
The Sassy Biscuit Co, IG: @thesassybiscuitco
The Slutty Vegan Atlanta, IG: @sluttyveganatl
Trade Streed Jam Co, IG: @tradestjamco
Twisted Soul Cookhouse and Pours, IG: @twistedsoulcookhouse
Two Chicks in the Mix, IG: @twochicksinthemix
Vee the Baker, IG: @veethebaker
veggiegrub, IG: @veggiegrub
YOCO CONFECTIONS, IG: @yoco_confections
Yummy Spoonfuls, IG: @yummyspoonfuls

Health and Wellness Companies

Alexandra Elle, IG: @alex_elle
ama wellness, IG: @amawellness
Anasa, IG: @anasayoga
Banana Skirt Productions, IG: @bananaskirtny
BoomBox, IG: @boombox_boxing
Black Girls Breathing, IG: @blackgirlsbreathe
Black Girl in OM, IG: @blackgirlinom
Blaque Fitness, IG: @blaque.inc
BLK+GRN, IG: @blkandgrn
Brittne Babe, IG: @brittnebabe
Chakra Zulu, IG: @chakrazulucrystals
CODDLE, IG: @coddledotco
CYCLED!, IG: @cycledstudios
DRFITBRITT, IG: @drfitbritt
ethel’s club, IG: @ethelsclub
familiar...yet different, IG: @familiaryetdifferent
Golde, IG: @golde
Grit by Brit, IG: @gritbybrit
Heal Haus, IG: @healhaus
Henna Sooq, IG: @hennasooq
Imani Walker Pilates, IG: @imaniwalkerpilates
Kung Fu University, IG: @kungfuuniv
LIMEGREEN, IG: @@brooklynlimegreen
Love Offering, IG: @loveoffering
NaturesJewel, IG: @_naturesjewel
NorthShea, IG: @northshea
OMNOIR, IG: @omnoire
OYIN handmade, IG: @oyinhandmade
Pan-African Connection, IG: @panafrican_connection
Pilates, Barre, and Jams, IG: @pilatesbarreandjams
Pray Sweat Slay, IG: @praysweatslay
prettiyogi, IG: @prettiyogi
RUNGRL, IG: @rungrlco
Satori Yoga, IG: @satoriyogastudio
shaniciaboswell, IG: @shaniciaboswell
You are the Anser!, IG: @shopanser
SIDEBARRE, IG: @sidebarredc
The Creative Root, IG: @thecreativeroot
The Honey Pot Company, IG: @thehoneypotco
The Well MB, IG: @thewellmb
TRILLFIT, IG: @trillfit
Vitality, IG: @vitalitymeditation
Yasmine Cheyenne, IG: @yasminecheyenne
Yoga Foster, IG: @yogafoster
You Good Sis?, IG: @yougoodsis
Ziba Naturals, IG: @zibanaturals_


Disclosures

© 2020 Ellevest, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

All opinions and views expressed by Ellevest are current as of the date of this writing, for informational purposes only, and do not constitute or imply an endorsement of any third party’s products or services.

Information was obtained from third-party sources, which we believe to be reliable but not guaranteed for accuracy or completeness.

The information provided does not take into account the specific objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any specific person.

Don’t miss an update

What you need to know about managing your financial health during the coronavirus pandemic. Plus fact-based opinions and women supporting women. Delivered 3x a week.

Ellevest Team

The Ellevest team is working to help women reach their financial and professional goals.